Posted in First Time Parents

Things You Give Up When You Have A Newborn

There are so many things you gain when you become a parent but there are also a few things you give up. This list just makes me giggle.

  1. Sleep – Who needs sleep anyway? I do, I need sleep. My little one started his life sleeping really well for fairly long spans at night, but he has had some tummy rImiTnrFBnQbQhz6HHCVd9YQGW1d1WFk_lgtroubles recently so it has been waking up every two hours. Plus our little angel has been waking up ready for the day at 5:30am. Last night as I started falling asleep on the couch at 7:30pm, I looked at my husband and said, “I am so tired.” He took the little one and let me go to bed. It is amazing what a few extra hours of sleep can do! I dream of one day being able to have a full night’s sleep again. Yes, I dare to dream.
  2. Warm Food – I always heard jokes about parents not getting to have a warm meal but never understood the jokes. Now I get it. Every time dinner is ready something happens, a diaper explosion, he is hungry, he starts to cry, he is doing something so cute I can’t look away. Your food ends up put aside because of your responsibilities and by the time you resolve the situation dinner is cold. It is a small price to pay for your adorable newborn.
  3. Clean Clothes – My son is, what my pediatrician calls, a barf bunny. He spits up like crazy (don’t worry he is healthy!). I can carefully cover myself in receiving blankets but somehow, he always manages to spit up somewhere on me. Thank goodness baby spit up cleans easily. I quickly learned to not change into my work clothes until right before we head out for the day.
  4. A Clean House – I am a cleaner/organizer, so not having a clean house is like nails on a chalk board for me. I have worked hard to keep up but some days it is 3914629impossible. As I look around at the dishes in the sink, the un-vacuumed floor, and the laundry that hasn’t been put away, I think to myself, I get to enjoy this for the next 18 years.
  5. Moving Quickly – I think back to BB (before baby), a friend would call to meet for a drink, I would fix my makeup, grab my purse, and go. Ah, the ability to move quickly. This is an impossible task with our little guy. There is a full process to go anywhere; check the diaper bag, change his diaper, get him strapped into the car seat, make sure he has his paci and a receiving blanket, oh he peed again so we have to change him again, take him out of the car seat, change him, get him into the car seat, get myself ready… 30 minutes later we are out the door. All of that is if he isn’t hungry, add another 30ish minutes if I have to feed him.36-funniest-and-hilarious-parenting-memes-32
  6. Staying Out Late – We have a strict bed time, because if we don’t then we suffer the consequences. Staying out past 8pm isn’t really an option at this point. Our little man struggles with bedtime so we are trying to stay in routine (at a least a little bit!). It isn’t just our baby that makes us come home… I’m not sure about other parents but I am exhausted around 8pm. Even if he didn’t need a structured bedtime, I need one!

As always! I will say that every negative of a newborn is far outweighed by the handspositives. Our little guy’s newest thing is to hold my hand while he falls asleep, my heart melts! Some many of the best moments of my life. But it is funny to look back at what used to be simple tasks and how they are now like entering a battlefield. I can’t wait to see how I feel when he hits his toddler phase!

Author:

A project obsessed, coffee/tea/wine drinker with a book problem. Current wife, new mother and recent homeowner.

2 thoughts on “Things You Give Up When You Have A Newborn

Leave a Reply

